Sasha’s Stranger Than Usual: The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern Review

book cover
The Night Circus
Erin Morgenstern
Doubleday Canada- September 13, 2011
Hardcover
Fantasy/Romance/Magical realism
387 pages

The circus arrives without warning. No announcements precede it. It is simply there, when yesterday it was not. Within the black-and-white striped canvas tents is an utterly unique experience full of breathtaking amazements. It is called Le Cirque des Rêves, and it is only open at night.

But behind the scenes, a fierce competition is underway—a duel between two young magicians, Celia and Marco, who have been trained since childhood expressly for this purpose by their mercurial instructors. Unbeknownst to them, this is a game in which only one can be left standing, and the circus is but the stage for a remarkable battle of imagination and will. Despite themselves, however, Celia and Marco tumble headfirst into love—a deep, magical love that makes the lights flicker and the room grow warm whenever they so much as brush hands.

True love or not, the game must play out, and the fates of everyone involved, from the cast of extraordinary circus performers to the patrons, hang in the balance, suspended as precariously as the daring acrobats overhead.


… .. .

Although the cover seemed to catch my eye with its tiny black and white striped tents resting in the palm of a pale hand against the backdrop of a dark, scattered starry night sky. And the summary made me go “oooh“, it was the first page that did it for me. I absolutely love it when the author shoves quotes or song lyrics in their books somewhere. This author didn’t disappoint in that department. What do I see when I open to the first page? Two quotes. One of them belonging to Oscar Wilde (I love him if you didn’t know..) and it went like this *clears throat dramatically* –

“A dreamer is one who can only find his way by moonlight, and his punishment is that he sees the dawn before the rest of the world.”

Erin Morgenstern did good. She did real good.

What can I say about The Night Circus?

For one, it was enchanting. I think that is the loveliest, clearest way to describe my reading experience in one word.

Now I’ve never been to the circus. Never. I feel as if I’m being deprived. (Cirque du Soleil is probably wonderful, but…) With the wonderful descriptions of the circus and its workings in this novel, I got more than a pretty good idea. My actual expectations have skyrocketted.

Honestly? I felt as if I were an unnamed, unnoticed character thrust in the background of this place. I was caught in a mesmerizing web as I was swept up amd away in an adventure where magic seemed to exist at every turn. I’m gushing at the sheer mystical creativity of this novel. It was so easy to picture all these places that I’ve never been to so clearly in my mind that it was difficult to put down. Morgenstern somehow manages to beautify things that you couldn’t- or at least I couldn’t have imagined were possible, let alone imagined them.

The raw passion between Celia & Marco is heartbreaking as well as awe inspiring. The realness seemed to try to find its way out of the book. Sadly, I couldn’t let it. Could you imagine? The library would definitely have some questions. (I’m an avid borrower. I think the librarians are getting sick of seeing me. Too bad!).

All of the characters were surprisingly likeable- yes, even the annoying dickhead type characters. Though there weren’t too many. They all seemed to have their own kind of charm that breathed some life into them, even if they weren’t as important as others.

Nevermind the fact that I got a little confused as to what was happening and when. Obviously, I’m sure people actually pay attention to the dates given. After a while I figured that would be the smart thing to do. I catch on quick…

I honestly don’t think that I have one bad thing to say about this book. I absolutely loved it. So it really isn’t surprising to say that its going on my favourites list. How could it not? I’m giving this a 5 out of 5. Utterly fabulous.

If you haven’t realized yet, I’d recommend this to just about everyone. I may even shout it from the rooftops.

I’m not serious.

Wouldn’t that be a sight to see?

If Erin Morgenstern (even her name sounds mystical for goodness sakes!) decides to write a second novel, if she hasn’t already, I hope that she sticks with the fantasy genre because she is totally kicking ass.

I’m serious. Seriously serious.

-S

4 thoughts on “Sasha’s Stranger Than Usual: The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern Review

  1. I love the quotes in the beginnings of books. Sometimes I try to read those before even buying the book just to make sure I will like it. I feel like they tell you so much about the books and obviously it’s a sign for you that she put Oscar Wilde in the beginning. Loved your review – can’t wait to read this. I’ve been wanting to for a while because she wrote her first draft during NaNoWriMo.

    • Isn’t it the best? I’ve got one book where the author had put quotes from old movies in the beginning of every chapter. It was wonderful. Some of them are just so inspiring. They make me smile. I’m glad you liked it! I hope you enjoy the book as much as I did!
      Thanks for reading:)
      -S

      • You should TOTALLY read The Bride Stripped Bare by Nikki Gemmell. She puts these “lessons” at the beginning of every chapter (and chapters are only maybe five pages long at max) and they’re all really wonderful. You would love that. : )

  2. The title sounds terribly interesting. I don’t even know what it’s about and I’m already itching to find out. Adding to my pile & let the research commence! Thank you for the recommendation x)

Leave a Reply

