Nostalgic Tales : Sweet Tooth

Title: Sweet Tooth
Publisher: Jonathan Cape
Author: Ian McEwan
Type of Book: Trade Paperback
Pages: 320
Genre: Spy thriller, romance, historial fiction, mystery

So before I start off this will perhaps one of hopefully few books where I am required to have two different ratings. The reason for this is because at the end of it I truly am not sure where my vote lies, or maybe in the end of it all, once I’ve regurgitated my feelings I will look on this book and give it a permanent mark in my mind.

Let’s begin.

Ian McEwan, at the beginning of the description of his novel Sweet Tooth, it was written: In this stunning new novel, Ian McEwan’s first female protagonist since Atonement is about to learn that espionage is the ultimate seduction. – By Goodreads.

I wish I had been more mindful to the words: Ian McEwan’s first female protagonist, merely because ladies I feel this author does us women no justice, this author… presented me with the most pathetic, useless, and frivolous female leads that I have ever come across. Makes me wonder…why write such a character?

Serena Frome a gorgeous, gorgeous girl with long blond hair, big blue eyes and rather big on literature is a floosy. This well-rounded person, has a feminist for a mother who forced her to make more of herself academically, a Bishop for a father whom she does not have a close relationship with, and the wild sister who is the total opposite. Overall she be an okay gal, but once gets to university now that’s when things unravel.

Again in the few 100+ pages she throws herself from one relationship to another all because of her undeniable need to possess all which is not hers. She seeks constant approval for all her deeds and pretty much…opens her legs without even knowing a person long enough, once more all in the act of needing to possess a person. What made me curious is that while you’re reading, all this in her POV she does make it a point to remind us the reader that she does need to be praised and for me while reading that I still had to ask “but you’re a babe! You should be able to make men beg for you!!” later on you do find out why she is like that.

Daddy Issues…plain and simple.

This book, bore me to death, I perhaps had too much hope when I heard it was a spy-thriller, I expected my female lead to be cunning and daring and strong. She was weak, confused, the life she lead and career path (the secret service) was not of her own volition, but she still continued on to make her past-lover content, even though he did end their relationship and left her in a random location. She felt very 16. But then again during the course of everything she may have been only 25-26 by the end of it all.I had to forced myself to get threw it because it was just very me-on-a-rainy-day-lazy. The first 100+ cover her life and time in the agency, her friendship with Shirley who I rather liked a lot and wished more of her was showcased.

There are many historical terms and facts which are thrown about and all the men are pompous, egotistical, machos who think women only need to be around to look at. Anything else, they’re not cut out for it. So it wasn’t until she was assigned her mission to recruit a fellow writer Tom Haley, later on lover to work on behalf of her undercover agency that things looked to be picking up. But Serena was still sucking for me. Even when she had her new lover, that didn’t stop her to be flirty and pompous to her ex-lover, who broke with her and later on it comes to bite her in the ass.

Nevertheless, the flirty-jealousy bit I do not mind, he is one crazy guy.

So that concludes the first rating and review = 1.5/5. I don’t like things to be rushed but I am not riding a camel in a desert either.

The second half of my review, cover chapter 18 (20 if I want be really generous) till the end of the book. This was the highlight of my long suffering, the ending had my jaw open and I could not stop saying “oh damn”. Up until that point I would have never suspected who the real spy was in the end. Serena does not get better, her only brownie point would have been when word of her cover blew up and she silently told her superiors to “screw off”. The only time in her life where she finally decided to do something for herself, which was to stay with Tom—awww romantic gesture, it did nothing to console me nonetheless. And perhaps, it was nice that her long questions of whether or not her older-lover truly loved her or not, was finally answered. She spends a huge amount of time obsessing over it.

Total rating for this section = 4/5, it wasn’t perfect but considering everything I went through it was.

Meli<3

Leave a Reply

