Real Name or Pen-Names?

If you ever Published a novel would you use your real name or would you use a pen-name and why?

This is a question I’ve asked all my friends who one day want to publish their work. After working in a bookstore for almost two years (and still going), Authors’ names are one of the first things you’re going to look at when putting books away. It’s gotten to the point where I can almost always predict which section a book will be solely based on the author’s name.

I imagine there are tons of people out there not using their own names to publish their work for various reasons. But how do they come to that decision? That’s something I’ve always wondered and still don’t have a complete answer too.

I personally haven’t come to a decision yet. If ever I published something of my own, would I put my real name? I really don’t know. Most of me leans towards No. I want a pen-name. The other part of me would really like to see my real name on my work.

What do you think?
Sam

Leave a Reply

