Meli’s Nostalgic Tales: Cinder

Title: Cinder
Author: Marissa Meyer
Publisher: Feiwel & Friends
Type of book: Hardcover
Genre: Science fiction, dystopia, fantasy, young adult
Pages: 387

Once again I do bow down to the greatness of Goodreads, if there is one thing I regret is that I didn’t get to this book sooner. This is modern re-telling of Cinderella. Now I think one of the reasons I was so skeptical was because some of my fairytale re-telling normally don’t get executed to my expectation. Then I am left chucking another book against the wall. I joke. I don’t chuck disappointing books at walls, I chuck them at pillows.

What was great about this book is that while it took some of the similar approaches such as: horrible step mom, being treated like a slave, hopeless life, longing to go to the ball {although she claims that she would rather not}it still managed to make itself unique. For one, Cinder is an android! Now how cool is that?! But she would rather keep that on the down-low since her type of individual is frowned upon. She has a close friendship with one of stepsister, an upside to an unhappy home! Not to mention Cinder is a darn good even famous mechanic. Luckily or unluckily {still up for debate} she gets visited by Prince Kai {he makes‘em girls swoon people even had my heart racing a tad, but being a prince I suppose it just comes with the title} to repair a drone of his, a drone holding some important secrets. They are facing an invasion you see, in the guise of supernaturally-altered supreme beings called Lunar, and their queen who has some dark plans for planet earth.

Oh and there is a mysterious epidemic which is killing people off. It is a pretty bleak situation. -.-

This book is not all about action adventure, uncovering dark truths surrounding the Lunar and the mad doctor who perhaps isn’t so mad, although it is what keeps you turning the page >.<. Our main characters are each fighting for their own sense of freedom and struggling with the choice of doing what is best for them vs what it could mean for everyone. What I also enjoyed from this Cinderella was that she was head strong and won't shy away from doing what is right. I also felt that as the story progressed especially near the end she had reached a sense of maturity. For the first installment of this trilogy it left me crying out for more especially the way it ended. Also, should you decided to purchase this book there is a small bonus for the 2nd book Scarlet. Let me just say DELICIOUSNESS.

The time is ticking, Prince Kai is in danger and if Cinder doesn’t figure out how to stop the Lunar-race and their mutant army mankind will be exterminated. How exciting eh?!!

Leave a Reply

