To Brave the Adventure that is Nanowrimo?

With Nanowrimo just around the corner, I find myself at that fork in the road… do I join or do I just watch everyone else around me panic?

Well… I’m still standing at that fork in the road, but I’m curious to know if any of our readers are into NaNo! And if you are into it, do you like planning ahead or just winging it when november begins?

On my first attempt at NaNo, I tried to plan out a basic idea for a story… but then it didn’t pan out because once november came around I hated the idea… hahaha… on my second attempt, I tried to wing it… but then I just stared at a blank document for two hours and gave up– then I forgot about it by the second week because life sucks sometimes.

Have any of you been successful? Made it at least halfway? Or just fail miserably like me?

Sorry this is so short~
You’ll probably notice posts to be lacking… well, midterms are around the corner. Ahhh, the joys of a working student right? So fun. :)

Until next time!
Sam

2 thoughts on “To Brave the Adventure that is Nanowrimo?

  1. I have not actually been completely successful with NaNoWriMo though I did reach an infuriating 49600 words by midnight of the last day once…

    Best of luck to you!

    – Autore

  2. I completed NaNoWriMo in 2011 and boy was I proud of myself considering I had uni and work to do, somehow I still managed to finish. I went in with a basic idea of a story which I had tried to write a couple of years earlier and didn’t end up doing. I did kind of end up hating it whilst I was writing it because I found a lot of the content I was not writing it as best as it can be, but you kind of just have to push through. Try to focus on the word count at first then go back and edit if you have time. I have not done NaNoWriMo since because when I go to look at it with just a wring it kind of mind frame it just doesnt happen, im pretty sure I didn’t even sign up to try. I am however planning on getting into again this year because I have a couple of ideas I wish to play around with!

Leave a Reply

